With the sound of winds - Mussorgski and Michaelides

Cyprus : With the sound of winds - Mussorgski and Michaelides

Within the scope of the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra’s Chamber Music Concerts, five wind players join forces for an interesting proposal comprising two suites originally written for piano. For who isn’t familiar with Mussorgski’s “Pictures at an Exhibition” which, however, may be better-known through Ravel’s orchestral arrangement? Well, here’s a chance to “view” these pictures from a different perspective! And that’s also the case with Cypriot composer Solon Michaelides’ “Greek Suite”, which, even though initially written for piano, was later arranged by the composer himself for cello and piano, while in this concert it’s presented in yet another arrangement, preserving however all the grace and finesse of the original work. Five wind players, two suites, Nicosia and Limassol!

M. Mussorgski: Pictures at an Exhibition, Suite (arr.: J. Linckelmann)
S. Michaelides: Greek Suite (arr.: G. Georgiou)

Virginie Bove (flute), Simeon Spasov (oboe), George Georgiou (clarinet)
Giovanni Galetti (bassoon), Kelly Alijani (french horn)


Sunday, February 17th, 2019
Time: Starts at 17:00


Dr. Nefen Michaelides Music School
Limassol, Limassol Cyprus




Cyprus Symphony Orchestra
Phone: 22463144

Event Tools

Share this Event

 Email to a Friend

Save to Your Calendar

Note: While every care has been taken to ensure the information provided is accurate, we advise you to check with the event organisers before travelling to confirm the details are correct.


April 2019
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          

search events

All upcoming Cyprus events 142

Advanced Search

The Green Line Zaatar